walk

Last night Ryan and I walked almost four miles.  It’s the longest walk I’ve been on since the surgery; maybe even longer.  We didn’t go our usual route.  On this trip, we took a section of road that has no sidewalk and runs alongside the backyards of homes in a residential area.  The terrain is somewhat uneven.  It felt more like a hike than a walk.  Ryan and I hiked all the time, before we had kids.  I forgot how much I liked it.  It was no Diamond Head or Manoa Falls, but it felt good; and it was long enough to make me feel accomplished.

I’ve been guilty of eating my feelings lately.  I haven’t had a whole lot of time to walk recently, either, between appointments and various other things.  The walk felt good.  I don’t think it’s cancelled out all the extra calories, but it felt good.  It seemed like the first time we’d been alone together and not talked about cancer in a while.


A friend who had a double mastectomy told me that after her surgery, she started taking probiotic enzymes.  I started taking them too, before my surgery, and I don’t know exactly how much they’ve helped, our how they help, but I feel they might have helped in some way that I guess I don’t fully understand.  I think I’ve healed faster than if I hadn’t taken them.  At least, I have some weird sense of well-being that might be in my head.  I wasn’t even aware that probiotic enzymes came in tablet form.  I didn’t know anything about them until the conversation with my friend.  I think I’m a believer.

 

3 responses to “walk

  1. Hi Jen!

    It’s nice to see you’re out and about! My wife and I also enjoyed hikes when we were first married and living up in New Hampshire. It’s a great opportunity to talk, look around, and find your footing (in more ways than one). If you’ve ever read Bill Bryson’s “A Walk in the Woods” about Bill revisiting the Appalachian Trail with a friend, we apparently walked some of it too, without realizing how dangerous it was in that particular section of New Hampshire. Oops. I guess we had beginner’s luck with the timing and weather that day.

    I would also recommend refrigerated probiotics. These come in liquid or capsule form. Here is a list of probiotic foods that might also be helpful:

    kombucha, kefir, sauerkraut, pickles, pickled beets, pickled turnips and carrots, and Kim Chi

    Note: These should be non-pasteurized, because pasteurization destroys the helpful bacteria in this situation.

    If you visit @bengreenfield’s website, http://www.bengreenfieldfitness.com, he has a lot of helpful information (both in print and podcast form).

    Hang in there! 🙂

  2. Agreed probiotics have helped me out a ton. I take the Walgreen’s brand.

  3. It’s not all in your head. There have been studies about how your intestinal bacteria do help create a sense of well being. I’d give this episode of Radiolab a listen, and I can link to the actual published studies if you are interested.

    http://www.radiolab.org/2012/apr/02/

Leave a Reply

